AECI – African Explosives and Chemical Industries

BEV – Battery Electric Vehicles

BMW – Bayerische Motoren Werke AG

BUSA – Business Unity South Africa

CAIA – Chemical & Allied Industries’ Association

CEF – Central Energy Fund

COSATU – Congress of South African Trade Unions

CSIR – Council for Scientific and Industrial Research

CTL – Coal-To-Liquid

DEA – Department of Environmental Affairs

DFFE – Department of Forestry, Fisheries and the Environment

DMRE – Department of Mineral Resources

DSI – Department of Science and Innovation

DSI – Department of Science and Innovation

DTI(C) – Department of Trade, Industry (and Competition)

ENREF – Engen Refinery

ESRG – Energy Systems Research Group

EV – Electric Vehicles

FCEV – Fuel Cell Electric Vehicles

GTL – Gas-To-Liquid

HEV – Hybrid Electric Vehicles


ICE – Internal Combustion Engines

IDC – Industrial Development Corporation of SA

IEA – International Energy Agency

IPCC – Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change

LIB – Lithium-ion Battery

NAAMSA – National Association of Automobile Manufacturers of South Africa

NATREF – National Petroleum Refiners of SA

NBI – National Business Initiative

NERSA – National Energy Regulator of South Africa

OEM – Original equipment manufacturer

PCC – Presidential Climate Commission

SAF – Sustainable Aviation Fuels

SAPIA – South African Petroleum Industry Association

SAPPI – South African Pulp and Paper Industries Limited

SAPREF – South African Petroleum Refineries

SEZ – Special Economic Zones

TIPS – Trade & Industrial Policy Strategies

TPL – Transnet Pipelines

UCT – University of Cape Town

WWF – World Wildlife Fund